We're known for our bayous, but Louisiana also has its share of crowded roads too. We understand the unique challenges facing drivers in the Pelican State. That's why our local agents work hard to get you the right coverages to stay on the road.
The Louisiana Department of Insurance and the Department of Transportation and Development regulate minimum insurance requirements in the state. Every driver must have car insurance, and your vehicle should be registered in the state of Louisiana.
The following minimum insurance coverages are required by law.
You are required to obtain minimum coverage of $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident of bodily injury liability. This insures you against any bodily harm caused by your driving.
You are also required to carry a minimum of $25,000 property damage liability insurance. This covers you against any property damage caused by your vehicle while driving.
These coverages are just the minimum. You can choose to raise them, select a deductible, and add additional coverages. Insurance is available for medical payments, uninsured motorist bodily injury, theft, and more.
In addition to these minimums, if you have a car loan, your lienholder may require what's known as full coverage car insurance. This includes comprehensive and collision coverages. Failure to carry proof of the required insurance coverage will result in a $50 fine for a 30-day lapse, $150 for 30-90 days, and $300 after 90 days.
At Trinity Insurance, our professional agents live in Louisiana too. We work with our community to provide the best insurance coverage available.
We can cover any size, number, or price car, truck, or van. In fact, we're a full-service insurance agency that can handle all your insurance needs.
Contact one of our licensed agents today to learn how you can save time and money on car insurance.